Canada-U.S. border to remain shut until July 21 (Video)

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has just announced the border will remain shut to non-essential travel for another 30 days.

Canada and the U.S. have mutually agreed to extend their border restrictions until July 21.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau made the announcement during his daily coronavirus briefing on Tuesday, June 16.

“I can now confirm that Canada and the United States have now agreed to extend, by 30 days, until July 21, the current measures in place along our border. This is an important decision that will keep people in both of our countries safe,” he said.

As has been the case since March 21, when the travel restrictions initially took effect, non-essential travel will remain prohibited. The agreements have since been renewed monthly.

The purpose of the restrictions is to help both countries contain the spread of COVID-19. Only individuals travelling for essential reasons related to critical infrastructure support, work, study or family reunifications as well as trade have been allowed to cross the border since March. All other types of travel are considered non-essential.

Canada defines essential travel as that which is non-discretionary and non-optional.

The list of those who can enter Canada includes, but is not limited to:

  • Canadian citizens
  • Permanent residents
  • Temporary foreign workers
  • International students who held a valid study permit prior to March 16
  • Approved permanent residents who received their approval prior to March 18

Immediate family are also able to enter Canada from the U.S. 

Special immigration measures

Canada has had special immigration, visa, and travel measures in place since the middle of March in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

In addition to allowing exempt foreign nationals such as work and study visa holders into the country, Canada continues to process immigration applications and hold Express Entry and Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) draws. Canada will announce by June 30 whether it will change its current COVID-19 travel rules.

Leave a Reply